Island

A vase breaks against the wall
it was made by my mother with love
now shattered amongst all the rest
I can see the sunlight reflecting
in one of the shards on the floor
broken clay heart of a child.
The belt lashes quickly
like it’s never gonna end
each strike brings the hope of numbness
each strike is brighter and hotter
I was foolhardy
to think it would be over soon.
There’s a calm pool inside
where once an ocean crashed
the torrents have mostly subsided
I almost can’t believe my life.
I hope you might be dead by now
Aren’t you tired of hurting people?
Leave a Reply

