Portland Sponge

PortlandSponge

I woke up to the salacious sounds of rain licking the rooftops

Comforting me

Giving me power

To start the day.

Washing my face, I glance in the mirror

Eight years

Has left my face

Bloated.

The old Arakeen who lives inside of me looks out

Hard desert eyes

Focus on the water

Still dripping.

No proper desert rat would leave it running that long

Water is precious

Water is sacred

Water is life

Water is seeping out of my water-logged face

 I am

A Portland

Sponge.

Squeeze me and I’ll leak liquid out the pores

I step outside

One with

The rain.

No longer does the Spice flow through these veins

I am a Lady

Of the Mist

Now.

Another Portland Sponge going about the day

Wet

As the atmosphere

Surrounding.

Leave a Reply

